Hemp, a close relative of the cannabis plant, is naturally gluten-free. However, it can be cross-contaminated with gluten grains like wheat during harvesting, storage, and transportation. To ensure that hemp products are safe for those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity, look for products that are labeled gluten-free or certified by the Gluten-Free Products Certification Organization (GFCO). Hemp granola is a crunchy snack made with hemp hearts, oats, pumpkin seeds, walnuts, oil, and a sweetener like maple syrup.
It is low in carbohydrates and high in protein and fat. While regular oatmeal isn't low in carbohydrates and doesn't contain as much protein as hemp granola, it is still a great source of energy and can be enjoyed on a gluten-free diet. Always check with your doctor how much hemp protein you should add to your granola bar and other snacks to meet your needs.